Skip navigation

CQC Inspections in Adult Social Care

Tuesday 7 July 2015
Hallam Conference Centre, London

CQC Inspections in Adult Social Care

This event has now past, but there may well be news on the event including presentations and quotes from the day at our News pages here, a full list of our forthcoming events is available here.

Follow this conference on Twitter #CQCSocialCare

The Care Quality Commission have been using a new approach to inspect and regulate adult social care services since 1 October 2014. 

“2015 will see CQC embed our tougher inspection regime as we rate more and more services and introduce special measures in April when our new regulations also come into force. As we do this we will identify and celebrate the good and outstanding services that do exist. But the old year closed with new reminders that not all care meets the standards we expect. It is vital that we continue to act on information about poor services and use our regulatory and inspection powers to protect people by encouraging services to improve or forcing their exit from the market.” Care Quality Commission, January 2015

Andrea Sutcliffe, Chief Inspector of Social Care at the Care Quality Commission identified the stand-out theme running through outstanding social care inspections as theme in all of these reports is the focus on person-centred care that embraces the individual and those around them. Andrea said “While we may despair at the poor services that exist, the joy of these Outstanding services is that it demonstrates truly excellent care can be provided and does make a real difference to people’s lives. The message from these examples seems to be: focus on the person, support your staff, pay attention to detail and always try to improve.” (CQC blog, Jan 2015). 

This conference focuses on preparing for and learning from the CQC inspections in Adult Social Care. Improving quality and experiences of care in community, residential/care home and hospice settings. Through national update sessions and practical case studies from organisations that have achieved the outstanding rating the conference will provide a guide to improvement within your service. 

Also of interest: 

Self Neglect & Adult Safeguarding
Monday 5 October 2015
Hallam Conference Centre, London
Caldicott Guardian Training Course
Monday 12 October 2015
Hallam Conference Centre, London
Adult Safeguarding Enquiries & Safeguarding Adults Reviews
Monday 12 October 2015
Hallam Conference Centre, London
Improving Mental Health Crisis Care
Thursday 15 October 2015
Hallam Conference Centre, London
Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards: Ensuring Compliance in Practice
Tuesday 17 November 2015
Hallam Conference Centre, London
BASWNational Care ForumThe College of Social Work
GGI (Good Governance Institute) accredited conferences CPD Member ASGBI (Association of Surgeons of Great Britain and Ireland) professional partner BADS (British Association of Day Surgery) accredited conferences