Skip navigation

Gillian Leng presenting today on looking ahead to the new NICE guidance

Prof Gillian LengProf Gillian Leng

Gillian’s presentation included an update on NICE’s role in setting guidelines on safe staffing including  the process overview, initial issues raised and mental health topics.

Gillian said the key messages in the guidelines were:
Staffing levels relate to patient needs
Registered nurses and skill mix
Role of red flags
No single minimum number
Monitoring and flexibility is important

Gillian concluded her presentation by saying that the First NICE guideline on safe staffing in adult wards is out for consultation and the first mental health topic is mental health inpatient settings

Gillian said challenges relate to lack of evidence and data.

“Prioritising nurse staffing is only one element – work on whole team staffing models also required.”

Scroll down to full presentation

Events of interest:

Nurse Clinics 2014
Wednesday 19 November 2014 Birmingham

Out of Hours Care in Hospital
Tuesday 2 December 2014 London

Hospital Care at Night
Tuesday 2 December 2014 London

Nurse Prescribing
Friday 5 December 2014 London

Non-Medical Prescribing
Friday 5 December 2014 London

Nursing Appraisal and Revalidation
Tuesday 9 December 2014 Manchester

Effective Nurse Director
Tuesday 13 January 2015 London

Nurse Appraisal and Revalidation in Mental Health
Wednesday 14 January 2015 London

Safe Staffing: Nursing Staffing Levels and Skillmix
Tuesday 27 January 2015 London

Advancing IV Therapy
Thursday 29 January 2015 London

Eliminating Avoidable Pressure Ulcers
Wednesday 4 February 2015 Birmingham

Masterclass: Nursing Revalidation
Tuesday 10 February 2015 London

The National Quality Standard for Surgical Site Infection
Thursday 12 February 2015 London

Masterclass: Nurses, Midwives and the Law
Thursday 5 March 2015 London

Safe Midwife Staffing in Maternity Settings
Tuesday 10 March 2015 London

Effective Ward Manager
Monday 16 March 2015 London

Presentation Skills & Public Speaking for Nurses Masterclass
Monday 16 March 2015 London

Nursing Appraisal and Revalidation
Thursday 26 March 2015 London

Masterclass: Nurse Led Discharge
Tuesday 28 April 2015 London

 


Download: Prof Gillian Leng Presentation

17 November 2014

 PreviousNext 

    Partner Organisations

    The Tavistock and Portman NHS Foundation TrustInPracticeClinical Audit Support CentrePlayoutJust For Nurses
    GGI (Good Governance Institute) accredited conferences CPD Member ASGBI (Association of Surgeons of Great Britain and Ireland) professional partner BADS (British Association of Day Surgery) accredited conferences